An American Family History

Robert Ricketts, Jr.


Ricketts is also spelled Rickeots, Rickeotts, Rickett, Rickets, Ricket, Rickel, Rickle, Rickels, and Rickles.

Indiana became a state in 1819. The north was settled by people from New England and New York, the center by people from the Mid-Atlantic states and Ohio, and the south by people from Southern states, particularly Kentucky and Tennessee.

Robert Ricketts, Jr. was born on July 14, 1795, probably in Mason County, Kentucky. He was the son of Robert Ricketts and Susannah Wilson.

When he was about 21, he married Anne Larew (LaRue) about 1816.

Robert and Ann's children included:
Dorcas Ricketts (1817-1818),
Garrett Ricketts (1819-1875, married Alice Manford),
David Ricketts (1821),
Daniel M. Ricketts (1822, married Mary Brown),
Elizabeth Ann Ricketts Keith (1823, married John Francis Keith),
Tabitha Jane Ricketts Tower (1825-1905, married William Scranton Tower),
Asenath Ricketts (1829-1890),
Cindarella R. Ricketts McKenzie (1832-1913, married Alexander McKenzie), and
Rachael Ricketts Thrasher (1834-1911, married Andrew Thrasher).

Robert Jr. was a Baptist Missionary and trustee of the Freewill Baptist Church in 1857. He was also a farmer and rafted flatboats down the rivers to New Orleans.

He died on April 6, 1864 when he was 68 in Pleasant Township, Switzerland County, Indiana and was buried in Ebenezer Cemetery, Craig Township, Moorefield, Switzerland County, Indiana. Ann died January 10, 1877.

Children of Robert Ricketts
and Susannah Wilson
  • John Ricketts
  • Phoebe Ricketts Sheridan
  • Hannah Ricketts Buchanan
  • William Ricketts
  • Susannah Ricketts Moulton
  • Robert Ricketts
  • Isaac Ricketts
  • Edward M. Ricketts
  • Elizabeth Ricketts Larew Blankenship
  • Rebecca Ricketts Winings
  • Margaret Ricketts Kelso
  • Sarah Ricketts Winings
  • Vienna Louise Ricketts Moulton
  • LaRue or Larew is also spelled as La Rue, Le Roux, Lerrew, Larrew, La Rew, Lerrue, Laroux, and La Roue.

    Baptist churches were found in early colonial settlements and grew out of the English Separatist movement and the doctrine of John Smyth who rejected infant baptism.

    Mason County, Kentucky was established by the Virginia legislature in 1788 from Bourbon County. Nineteen Kentucky counties were formed from the original Mason County.

    Robert Ricketts


    Colonial Maryland
    Colonial New England
    Colonial Virginia & West Virginia
    Quakers & Mennonites
    New Jersey Baptists
    German Lutherans
    Watauga Settlement
    Pennsylvania Pioneers
    Midwest Pioneers
    Jewish Immigrants

    ©Roberta Tuller 2023
    An American Family History is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program,
    an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.
    As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases.