An American Family History

Phoebe Ricketts Sheridan


Ricketts is also spelled Rickeots, Rickeotts, Rickett, Rickets, Ricket, Rickel, Rickle, Rickels, and Rickles.


Ohio County, Indiana was first created in 1844 from Dearborn County. The county seat is Rising Sun which is in Randolph Township. Ohio County is in southeast Indiana on the Kentucky border. In 1826, the Dearborn County Courthouse burned containing all records.

Kentucky was originally a Virginia county and included the lands west of the Appalachians. In 1780, it was divided into Fayette, Jefferson, and Lincoln counties. Kentucky officially became a state on June 1, 1792.

Phoebe Ricketts Sheridan was born about 1789 in Huntingdon County (now Mifflin County), Pennsylvania.. She was the daughter of Robert Ricketts and Susannah Wilson.

She married James Sheridan about 1814 in Kentucky. James was born in 1785 in Pennsylvania.

Phoebe and James' children included:
Isaac N. Sheridan (1815, married Mary Rayles),
Jane Sheridan (1817, died at birth),
Nancy J. Sheridan Jones (1819, married George W. Jones),
John Sheridan (1820),
Margaret Sheridan Howard (1823, married John W. Howard),
Robert Sheridan (1826, married Rebecca Carver), and
Sarah Sheridan See (1831, married George Washington See).

In 1830 the family was in Randolph, Dearborn County, Indiana. The household consisted of:

A man and a woman between 40 & 49 - James and Phoebe
A boy between 15 & 19 - Isaac
2 girls between 10 & 14 - Nancy & ?
A boy and a girl between 5 & 9 - John & Margaret
A boy under 5 - Robert

In 1850 James age 62 and Phoebe age 61 were in Ohio County, Indiana.

In 1852 James Sheridan got 160 acres in Hardin County by warrant. James served in the War of 1812. He received a land grant in Hardin County, Illinois for his service in the 2nd Regiment of the United States Dragons.

James died about 1860 when he was hit in the head and fell from a riverboat on a trip on a gambling boat up the Ohio River from Hardin County, Illinois to Rising Sun, Indiana.

Phoebe died about 1860 and was buried at Cave-in-Rock Village in Hardin County, Illinois.

The entire valley of the Juniata was included in the county of Cumberland. From this county Bedford was formed in 1771. Huntingdon was formed from Bedford by an act of Assembly, passed on the 20th day of September, 1787. On February 26, 1846 a small corner was annexed to Mifflin County, Pennsylvania.
Children of Robert Ricketts
and Susannah Wilson
  • John Ricketts
  • Phoebe Ricketts Sheridan
  • Hannah Ricketts Buchanan
  • William Ricketts
  • Susannah Ricketts Moulton
  • Robert Ricketts
  • Isaac Ricketts
  • Edward M. Ricketts
  • Elizabeth Ricketts Larew Blankenship
  • Rebecca Ricketts Winings
  • Margaret Ricketts Kelso
  • Sarah Ricketts Winings
  • Vienna Louise Ricketts Moulton
  • In the War of 1812 (1812-1815) the United States declared war on England because of trade restrictions, impressment, and British support for Indian attacks. They signed the Treaty of Ghent on December 24, 1814 after reaching a stalemate.

    Illinois became a state in 1818. A large influx of American settlers came in the 1810s by the Ohio River.



    Colonial Maryland
    Colonial New England
    Colonial Virginia & West Virginia
    Quakers & Mennonites
    New Jersey Baptists
    German Lutherans
    Watauga Settlement
    Pennsylvania Pioneers
    Midwest Pioneers
    Jewish Immigrants

    ©Roberta Tuller 2023
    An American Family History is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program,
    an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.
    As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases.