An American Family History

Isaac Ricketts


Ricketts is also spelled Rickeots, Rickeotts, Rickett, Rickets, Ricket, Rickel, Rickle, Rickels, and Rickles.

Woodford County, Illinois was formed in 1841 from parts of Tazewell and McLean Counties. Metamora (Hanover before 1845) was the county seat from 1843-1894.

Kentucky was originally a Virginia county and included the lands west of the Appalachians. In 1780, it was divided into Fayette, Jefferson, and Lincoln counties. Kentucky officially became a state on June 1, 1792.

Isaac Ricketts was born on August or September 15, 1798 in Mason County, Kentucky. He was the son of Robert Ricketts and Susannah Wilson.

He married Catherine Mounts (Mountz) on January 22, 1822 in Dearborn, Switzerland County, Indiana.

Their children included:
Susannah Ricketts Moulton (1822, married Reuben Moulton, son of Levi Moulton),
Caleb Ricketts (1823, married Cindise Nelson),
Rachel Ricketts Martindale (1825, married Henry Martindale),
Eliza J. Ricketts (1831),
Luvena Ricketts McClelland ( April 16, 1831) and
Mary Ann Ricketts Barton (June 19, 1834 or January 13, 1833).

Catherine died sometime after 1833, when Mary Ann was born, and the 1840 census.
Isaac received a grant of 80 acres in Tazewell (now Woodford) County, Illinois on September 5,1838. He bought an adjacent 80 acres from Christiana Griffith on September 11, 1839 for $160.

In May 9, 1848, Isaac sold his property in Woodford County to Michael Beechler for $1,500 then bought property in the city of Peoria for $150. In 1855 Isaac bought property in Peoria for $137.61.

Caleb moved in with him in 1856. From 1857-64, Isaac moved to Coles County, Illinois and in 1864 he sold his property in Peoria to his son-in-law, W. H. C. Barton on July 30, 1864 for $2500. During his last years, Isaac alternated living with his daughters, Mary Ann Barton and Lovena McClelland.

He died on September 27, 1875 Paradise, Coles County, Illinois
Children of Robert Ricketts
and Susannah Wilson
  • John Ricketts
  • Phoebe Ricketts Sheridan
  • Hannah Ricketts Buchanan
  • William Ricketts
  • Susannah Ricketts Moulton
  • Robert Ricketts
  • Isaac Ricketts
  • Edward M. Ricketts
  • Elizabeth Ricketts Larew Blankenship
  • Rebecca Ricketts Winings
  • Margaret Ricketts Kelso
  • Sarah Ricketts Winings
  • Vienna Louise Ricketts Moulton
  • Mason County, Kentucky was established by the Virginia legislature in 1788 from Bourbon County. Nineteen Kentucky counties were formed from the original Mason County.

    Illinois became a state in 1818. A large influx of American settlers came in the 1810s by the Ohio River.



    Colonial Maryland
    Colonial New England
    Colonial Virginia & West Virginia
    Quakers & Mennonites
    New Jersey Baptists
    German Lutherans
    Watauga Settlement
    Pennsylvania Pioneers
    Midwest Pioneers
    Jewish Immigrants

    ©Roberta Tuller 2023
    An American Family History is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program,
    an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.
    As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases.