An American Family History

Maud May Shelton Netherow

Chariton is the county seat of Lucas County, Iowa and is in Lincoln Township.

In the 1830s settlers began arriving in Iowa from Ohio, Pennsylvania, New York, Indiana, Kentucky, and Virginia. Iowa became a state in 1846.

Maud May Shelton Netherow was born on March 15, 1885 in Lucas County, Iowa. Her parents were John Shelton and Isabelle Solinger.

She married John Daniel Netherow on March 1, 1903. John was born on September 23, 1869 and was the son of David and Lucinda Netherow.


Their children included:
David Edward Netherow (1904),
Dorothy Netherow (1906),
Ruth Netherow (1910),
Paul L. Netherow (1912),
Virginia C. Netherow (1914),
Evelyn Netherow (1918),
Zelpha Netherow (1919), and
John Thomas Netherow (1924).

David died on February 18, 1905 and was laid to rest at Salem Cemetery in Lucas County.

David Edward, infant son of Mr. and Mrs. J. D. Netheroe, died at the home of his grandparents, Mr.. and Mrs. John Fox, on Saturday evening, February 18, 1905, after an illness of only a week with pneumonia.

Funeral services conducted by Rev. F. B. Palmer were held at the Fox home on Sunday afternoon at two o'clock after which the remains were gently laid to rest in the Salem Cemetery. The little one was born in Chariton on December 29, 1904. The sorrowing parents have the sympathy of a host of friends in their great grief.

Mrs. J. D. Netheroe left the first of the week for Fairfield to visit her brother, Ed Groves and family. From there she expects to go to Bureau, Ill., where her husband is employed and where they expect to reside. The Chariton Leader, Thursday, February 23, 1905.

At the time of the 1910 census, they were living in Des Moines and David was a fireman in a broom factory. 

David died in February 1942 and Maud died in November, 1974 in Des Moines, Iowa.

Isabelle & Maud
Isabelle Welch and her daughter Maud Netherow with her children
Children of:
John Newton Fox and
Sarah Jane Ricketts
  • Clara Fox Wood
  • Eliza Fox Smith
  • Bonham Fox
  • Merrit Fox
  • Orpha Fox
  • Etta Fox O'Dea
  • Mae Fox McKelvey

    Isabelle Solinger
    and R. Groves
  • Edward Groves
  • Isabelle Solinger
    and John Shelton
  • Clyde D. Sheldon
  • Leonard William Shelton
  • Maud May Shelton Netherow
  • Thomas Del Shelton
    John Fox and
    Isabelle Solinger
  • Earl Fox
  • Lucas County is in south central Iowa. It was founded in 1846 and the county seat is Chariton.



    Colonial Maryland
    Colonial New England
    Colonial Virginia & West Virginia
    Quakers & Mennonites
    New Jersey Baptists
    German Lutherans
    Watauga Settlement
    Pennsylvania Pioneers
    Midwest Pioneers
    Jewish Immigrants

    ©Roberta Tuller 2023
    An American Family History is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program,
    an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.
    As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases.