An American Family History

Isaac Ricketts


Ricketts is also spelled Rickeots, Rickeotts, Rickett, Rickets, Ricket, Rickel, Rickle, Rickels, and Rickles.


Ohio County, Indiana was first created in 1844 from Dearborn County. The county seat is Rising Sun which is in Randolph Township. Ohio County is in southeast Indiana on the Kentucky border. In 1826, the Dearborn County Courthouse burned containing all records.

Isaac Ricketts was born on November 10, 1819 in Dearborn (now Ohio) County, Indiana. His parents were William Ricketts and Elizabeth Oxley. He was a farmer and a carpenter.

When he was 20, he married Catherine Simpson in 1839 in Montgomery County, Indiana. It is likely that she had been married to John Simpson and divorced him in March, 1838.

Isaac and Catherine's children and life together are described in detail in the Isaac and Catherine Ricketts section.

He died on September 22, 1875 at the age of 56 years in Lucas County, Iowa. 

Mr. Isaac Ricketts, an old and respected citizen of Chariton, took a dose of concentrated lye one night last week, through a mistake, which resulted in his death in 28 hours after taking. (from The Muscatine Weekly Journal, October 13)

He was buried in Chariton Cemetery, Section F, Row 13-N-S with his wife Catherine.

Children of William Ricketts
and Elizabeth Oxley

  • Celia Ricketts Holmes
  • John Ricketts
  • Eli Ricketts
  • Mary Ann Ricketts Planck Clutter
  • Isaac Ricketts
  • William Ricketts
  • Prior Ricketts
  • Eliza Ricketts
  • James Ricketts
  • Elizabeth Ricketts
  • William Ricketts
    and Harriet Dean

  • Garrett Larew Ricketts
  • Robert L. Ricketts
  • Sarah L. Ricketts Edwards
  • Isabella Ricketts King
  • Samuel Lowe Ricketts
  • Susanna Ricketts
  • Marian Amanda Ricketts Kent
  • George Washington Ricketts
  • Andrew Jackson Ricketts
  • Noah J. Ricketts
  • Chariton is the county seat of Lucas County, Iowa and is in Lincoln Township.

    DNA match with other descendant in this line.
    Isaac Ricketts
    Sarah Jane Ricketts Fox
    Eliza Fox Smith
    John Elmer Smith
    Virginia Smith Miller


    Colonial Maryland
    Colonial New England
    Colonial Virginia & West Virginia
    Quakers & Mennonites
    New Jersey Baptists
    German Lutherans
    Watauga Settlement
    Pennsylvania Pioneers
    Midwest Pioneers
    Jewish Immigrants

    ©Roberta Tuller 2023
    An American Family History is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program,
    an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.
    As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases.