An American Family History


1772 Articles of Association


In May, 1772 people in the Watauga settlement formed an association and drew up articles forming their own government. They appoined officers, courts, and constabulary. They elected thirteen commissioners.

Bean, William
Russell, George
Brown, Jacob
Sevier, John
Carter, John
Smith, James
Jones, John
Tathum, William
Isbell, Zachariah
Womack, Jacob
Lucas, Robert
Robertson, Charles










Colonial Maryland
Colonial New England
Colonial Virginia & West Virginia
Quakers & Mennonites
New Jersey Baptists
German Lutherans
Watauga Settlement
Pennsylvania Pioneers
Midwest Pioneers
Jewish Immigrants

©Roberta Tuller 2020
An American Family History is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program,
an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.
As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases.